Organizational Relationships

Key to presenting a consistent, professional identity is an understanding and ability to clearly describe who we are and how we operate. To accurately describe who we are, we begin at the university level.

The Ohio State University is the land-grant university in Ohio. As such, the university has a three part mission of teaching, research, and service. It is through this mission that the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, the Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center, and OSU Extension are interrelated. In addition to contributing jointly to the land-grant mission, this interconnection can also be described as being legislative, administrative, and budgetary in nature.  


Ohio State (and the college), OSU Extension, and OARDC were created as a result of three separate acts of the United States Congress. In 1862, President Abraham Lincoln signed the Morrill Act, establishing a land-grant university in each state. In 1887, the U.S. Congress passed the Hatch Act, providing funds for states to establish an agricultural experiment station. In Ohio the experiment station is known as the Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center (OARDC). In 1914, Congress passed the Smith-Lever Act, establishing the Cooperative Extension Service. In Ohio, the Extension Service is known as Ohio State University Extension. 


The Office of the Vice President and Executive Dean. The Ohio State University Board of Trustees appoints the Vice President for Agricultural Administration and Executive Dean for the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences and charges this individual with the authority and responsibility to administer all programming and funding related to the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, OSU Extension and OARDC. (The organizational chart, below, illustrates the administrative structure within the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences.) 

The Vice President’s Administrative Cabinet. The Vice President appoints the following individuals to conduct the administrative work of the college, OARDC, and OSU Extension.

  • Academic Programs. The Senior Associate Dean works with the Vice President to administer all academic programs within the college and the General Funds allocations from the university.
  • OARDC and OSU Extension. Two individuals work with the Vice President in the administration of OSU Extension and OARDC. These persons hold dual titles – they function as Associate Vice Presidents in administering OSU Extension and OARDC programs and funds across four colleges at Ohio State: the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences; the College Education and Human Ecology; the College of Veterinary Medicine; and the College of Biological Sciences. Other colleges have also had jointly administered programs with OARDC and OSU Extension. These same individuals hold titles of Associate Dean and Director as they work within the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences to administer OARDC and OSU Extension programs. 
  • International Programs. The college, OARDC, and OSU Extension are involved in many programs that extend beyond the borders of the United States. An Associate Dean administers programs sponsored by our college through the Office of International Programs in Agriculture.
  • Fiscal and Human Resources Administration. The Assistant Vice President handles many of the administrative, non-academic functions on behalf of the Vice President. These include financial oversight and planning and human resources activities. In addition, he/she oversees facility planning.  

Departmental and School Administration. Each department is led by a department chair; the School of Natural Resources and the Agricultural Technical Institute are led by directors, who also hold the title of Associate Dean. Departments within the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences are:

  • Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership
  • Department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics
  • Department of Animal Sciences
  • Department of Extension
  • Department of Entomology
  • Department of Food Animal Health Research Program (Jointly administered by the College of Veterinary Medicine)
  • Department of Food Science and Technology
  • Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
  • Department of Horticulture and Crop Science
  • Department of Plant Pathology

In addition, the School of Environment and Natural Resources and the Agricultural Technical Institute are also housed within the college. (For information on how a school differs from a department, see the Board of Trustees link.)

In the case of OSU Extension and OARDC, departments in the College of Education and Human Ecology, the Department of Entomology in the College of Biological Sciences, and the Food Animal Health Research Program in the College of Veterinary Medicine are jointly administered.  


Academic programs in the college receive funding though (1) subsidy from the state of Ohio, administered through the Ohio Board of Regents and central university administration and (2) tuition and fees generated through courses taught within the college, and (3) the college share of indirect costs from research grants. The academic program budget is known as the General Funds budget, and is allocated as part of the higher education budget for the state.

OARDC and OSU Extension receive their funding from both state and federal appropriations. OSU Extension also receives county government funds to operate its county-level offices. OARDC and OSU Extension are each identified as “line item” appropriations and their budgets are allocated directly from the legislature, not as a part of the university process.

It is at the department/school level that the teaching, research, and outreach program priorities and budgets are blended to fulfill the tripartite mission of the college and the university. Each year the Vice President, Associate Vice Presidents, and Senior Associate Dean work with the Department Chairs and School Directors to determine programmatic focus and to determine budgetary allocations from the three funding sources.